Books We're Known For

Virgin River Virgin River by Robyn Carr
  • Robyn Carr has 11 #1 New York Times bestsellers
  • Approximately 20 million books sold globally
  • In the last eight years, Carr's titles have spent more than 230 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list
  • The highly acclaimed Netflix series based on Virgin River will soon begin its second season
When I Was You by Amber Garza
  • You meets Fatal Attraction in this up-all-night story of suspicion, obsession and motherhood
  • “A thoroughly enjoyable, heart-pounding thriller.”—Sandie Jones, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Other Woman
  • "A fast-paced, beautifully plotted book that will keep you reading until the last page."—Samantha Downing, USA TODAY bestselling author of My Lovely Wife
The Henna Artist The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi
  • A New York Times bestseller; longlisted for the Center for Fiction Award
  • Reese's Book Club Pick for May 2020
  • LA Times, USA TODAY, Indie Bookseller, PW, Globe and Mail, and Toronto Star bestseller, and an Amazon Summer Reads pick
  • Rights have sold in over 21 territories
The Flight GirlsThe Flight Girls The Flight Girls by Noelle Salazar
  • Debut novel about the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP) program in WWII
  • A sweeping portrayal of women’s fearlessness and the power of friendship to make us soar
  • Instant bestseller that has sold over 130k copies so far
  • “Unputdownable.” —Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author
The Woman Before Wallis The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turnbull
  • Irresistible historical debut set in the glamorous world of British and American royalty in the 1920s and 30s, perfect for fans of The Crown
  • An insider’s view of the British royal family, based on the true story of the woman who owned Prince Edward’s heart before introducing him to her dear friend Wallis
  • “Brimming with scandal and an equal amount of heart . . . A must-read.”—Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to Key West
East Coast Girls East Coast Girls by Kerry Kletter
  • Lyrical women’s fiction about four lifelong friends who return to Montauk for one last summer, and revisit the fateful night that shaped them.
  • Critically acclaimed author
  • “A mix of gorgeous writing and page-turning suspense.”—Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author

Books We’re Excited About

Road Out of Winter by Alison Stine
  • Debut adult novel by award-winning poet
  • Literary speculative about a young woman who leaves her Appalachian farm and travels with a band of climate exiles on a harrowing road trip
  • "Richly imagined, deeply moving... Gloriously well-written."—Ms. Magazine
It's Been a Pleasure, Noni Blake by CLAIRE CHRISTIAN
  • Fresh, smart, edgy women’s fiction about a woman who travels to Europe in the singular pursuit of pleasure
  • Pitched as a sexy Eat Pray Love meets Evvie Drake Starts Over
  • Own voices LGBTQ+ novel
The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman by Julietta Henderson
  • Little Miss Sunshine meets Wonder in this delightfully charming, feel-good debut for fans of Graeme Simsion and Phaedra Patrick
  • About a 12-year-old would-be comedian who honors his dead best friend by performing their act at the biggest comedy festival in the country—only problem is, he is not funny
  • "Told with heart, humor, and wisdom. There is so much to love about this book."—Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This is How it Always Is
The Wrong Kind of Woman by Sarah McCraw Crow
  • Set in 1970 on the campus of an all-male college, this luminous debut is perfect for fans of Chloe Benjamin and Meg Wolitzer
  • A powerful exploration of identity set amid the rise of second wave feminism and protests against the war in Vietnam, with striking parallels to our own time
  • A glorious debut filled with characters grasping to find a place to belong in a world on the edge of change.”—Carol Rifka Brunt, New York Times bestselling author of Tell the Wolves I’m Home
Rescue You by Elysia Whisler
  • Debut women's fiction for fans of Robyn Carr and Susan Mallery
  • The first story in a new series featuring sisters, military veterans, and rescued puppies!
  • “Sweet and raw, beautiful and gritty. A heartwarming romance about the power of healing.” —Sarah Morgenthaler, USA TODAY bestselling author
Pretending by Holly Bourne
  • A hilarious and heartbreaking romantic comedy for the post-Me Too generation
  • Perfect for fans of Fleabag and painfully honest tales of modern dating with gritty humor and lots of heart
  • “[A] must read! . . . Beautifully written and completely engrossing but also a really important, timely book. Sheer brilliance.”—Lucy Foley, New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List
We Could Be Heroes by Mike Chen
  • A genre-bending romp about two unlikely friends from an Indie favorite author who delivers "sci fi with feelings"
  • A terrible superhero and a reluctant supervillain team up to uncover their stolen memories, only to find there is great power in choosing who you want to become
  • "Brimming with hope, goodwill, and friendship goals, We Could Be Heroes is the Thor: Ragnarok of superhero fiction."—Delilah S. Dawson, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars Phasma
Just Get Home by Bridget Foley
  • When a massive earthquake destroys LA, two strangers are brought together by an act of violence and must work together to get across the chaotic city, hoping to rescue one woman's daughter
  • With the breakneck pace of a thriller, this disaster novel also examines weighty issues that will spark discussion and stay with the reader long after the last page
  • "So much more than a thriller.... Breathtaking.”—Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author
See our full catalog »

Acquiring Editors

Nicole Brebner

Nicole Brebner, Editorial Director

Nicole has been with Harlequin for more than 15 years and works with bestselling authors in women’s fiction, suspense and thriller genres. Nicole is guiding the MIRA program to publish exciting editorial from established stars to exciting debuts from fresh new voices. MIRA is home to authors and books that will appeal to readers.

I’m looking for: Issue-driven women’s fiction, feel good fiction and psychological suspense.

I’d love to find the next: Louise Penny, Daniel Silva, Liv Constantine and Diana Gabaldon.

Kathy Sagan

Kathy Sagan, Senior Acquisitions Editor

Kathy Sagan’s list includes New York Times bestselling authors Alka Joshi, Allison Brennan and Jacquelyn Mitchard, as well as award-winning novelists Stacey Halls, Kelly Braffet, and others. Previously she has held executive positions in the book, magazine and digital world, where she published such authors as Mary Higgins Clark, Lisa Genova, and many others. She is searching for new and diverse voices and likes to collaborate closely with emerging and established writers to help bring their work to the next level. Currently Kathy is looking for fiction rich in storytelling, with complex characters and unique, emerging themes.

I’m looking for: Upmarket book club fiction; diverse and own voices novels; suspense with a strong narrative drive; quirky, uplifting debuts.

I’d love to find the next: Sally Rooney, Lisa Jewell, Emily St. John Mandel, Helen Oyeyemi.

Emily Ohanjanians

Emily Ohanjanians, Senior Editor

Emily Ohanjanians works with authors ranging from debuts to veteran New York Times and USA TODAY bestsellers. There is nothing more fulfilling for her than seeing readers connect with a story she’s had the pleasure of working on with an author, and is a tireless advocate for authors’ success. She continues to search for breakout commercial fiction, and is a fan of high concepts, strong pacing, complex characters and multi-level plotlines.

I’m looking for: Hooky book club fiction; romcoms featuring diverse characters and experiences; smart millennial fiction and lighthearted humor fiction.

I’d love to find the next: Casey McQuiston, Brit Bennett, Emily Henry, Liane Moriarty.

April Osborn

April Osborn, Editor

April joined MIRA in 2018, after a decade in the publishing industry during which she’s had the opportunity to work with bestselling and award-winning authors in many genres. She enjoys editing a broad range of fiction projects, from rich family sagas with strong plotting and complex relationships to psychological suspense and thrillers that make her spine tingle. She loves books that feature strong female protagonists from diverse backgrounds and propulsive plots balanced with compelling characters, and books that have something interesting to say about the world we live in. She also appreciates any book that can make her laugh out loud like a lunatic.

I’m looking for: Smart psychological thrillers from new perspectives, book club fiction with a contemporary edge, and recent historical fiction based on true events.

I’d love to find the next: Chloe Benjamin, Kiley Reid, Alyssa Cole, and Christina Baker Kline.

Margot Mallinson

Margot Mallinson, Assistant Editor

Margot Mallinson has been with Harlequin since 2006, joining the MIRA team in 2015, and has worked on everything from debuts to New York Times bestsellers. The wide range of stories in the MIRA catalog suits her eclectic tastes perfectly, from literary with a genre twist to page-turning suspense, always anchored by unforgettable characters. She feels there’s nothing better than helping an author realize their vision in the most impactful way possible.

I’m looking for: Historical from a new/untold perspective, character-driven women’s fiction, atmospheric thrillers, literary speculative and upmarket horror.

I’d love to find the next: C Pam Zhang, Gillian Flynn, N.K. Jemisin, Silvia Moreno-Garcia.